With the Passing of Time

Lovely as a summer day

Posted on: May 31, 2009

With air hopefully free of smoke.


© Plenz; please click for original image

Today is World No Tobacco Day, and this year’s theme is “Tobacco Health Warnings”. If cigarette packs really looked like the one in that picture I think people would have to think twice about continuing to smoke.

Volcanoes smoke, sometimes quite a lot. I don’t know why but it’s hard to imagine New Zealand as a volcano hot spot but it is, and mostly on the North Island. This satellite view shows Mount Taranaki and Mount Ruapehu, which is very active and they still filmed on and around it for Lord of the Rings. I wonder if I could have ignored the knowledge that I was standing on an active volcano and stayed in character. Then again, I’m not an actor so I think I’d be allowed to fixate on it if I wanted to.

I don’t know if I’d say this song is smokin’ but it’s still absolutely lovely. I can’t find anything to verify this, but according to one trivia site, today My Cherie Amour was released in 1969. It’s a wonderful song by Stevie Wonder and whether or not it was really released on this date or not, I’m going to post the lyrics but you should definitely go to last.fm and listen so you can sing along. Now that I’ve listened to this song about ten times I think I’m lucky that this came out a year after I was born or I could have been named Cherie. :-)

My Cherie Amour by the great Stevie Wonder

La la la la la la, La la la la la la

My cherie amour, lovely as a summer day
My cherie amour, distant as the Milky Way
My cherie amour, pretty little one that I adore
You’re the only girl my heart beats for
How I wish that you were mine

In a cafe or sometimes on a crowded street
I’ve been near you, but you never noticed me
My cherie amour, won’t you tell me how could you ignore
That behind that little smile I wore
How I wish that you were mine

La la la la la la, La la la la la la
La la la la la la, La la la la la la

Maybe someday, you’ll see my face among the crowd
Maybe someday, I’ll share your little distant cloud
Oh, cherie amour, pretty little one that I adore
You’re the only girl my heart beats for
How I wish that you were mine

La la la la la la, La la la la la la
La la la la la la, La la la la la la

Leave a Reply

Willingness to join soil, sound, hands; memory follows me ~ Viggo Mortensen
May 2009
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Credits

Daily words come from Merriam-Webster's word of the day. All rambling comes from my head.

Copyright

Creative Commons License
© 2008 - 2009 With the Passing of Time. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to With the Passing of Time with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
