With the Passing of Time

Jocund

Posted on: May 27, 2009

jocund
\JAH-kund\ | adjective

1 : marked by or suggestive of high spirits and lively mirthfulness

This is a good word, although I’ve only just discovered I’ve been mispronouncing it for years. I am not jocund. Even in my early 20s I was not jocund. My natural state is not lively or mirthful. It’s probably why everyone always thinks I’m the oldest even though I’m younger by 8 and 6 years. (It better not be because I look older or I’d have to hit someone.)

I note this only because I’m curious what jocund may mean in Chinese, but there’s a company in China called Shenzhen Jocund Industrial that makes electric scooters, skateboards and go carts. Much more interesting is a tattoo site that shows samples of Chinese symbols for jocund.


© Chinese Ink Design; please click for original image

While “mirthful” isn’t what comes to mind when I see these painting, I absolutely adore them. They’re by Lena Lisa and are wonderful. The pics on the left are the full paintings (Jocund Jungle I and II); the right shows a close up of the canvases.


© Lena Lisa; please click for original images

I liked the look of the paintings right away but I fell in love with them after looking at the closeups. There’s so much more going on in there than you can tell from the small picture. The layers, the kind of crackled effect, the texture. I don’t know if it’s jocund but it’s definitely alive and vibrant and beautiful. I’d buy most of the paintings on this page, actually. Several of her Mehr Licht series are stunning; they make me think of music on stained glass. The entire Flopsy’s Eden series is gorgeous. (Check out the close up of Flopsy Eden I; the paint looks fresh, like it’s almost still wet.) Silky Winds and First Contact are both sold, and I can understand why. It’s always wonderful to discover an artist, to know that there are people with such vision in the world.

© 2009 With the Passing of Time

Leave a Reply

Willingness to join soil, sound, hands; memory follows me ~ Viggo Mortensen
May 2009
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Credits

Daily words come from Merriam-Webster's word of the day. All rambling comes from my head.

Copyright

Creative Commons License
© 2008 - 2009 With the Passing of Time. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to With the Passing of Time with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
