With the Passing of Time

Destitute

Posted on: May 24, 2009

destitute
\DESS-tuh-toot\ | adjective

1 : lacking something needed or desirable
2 : lacking possessions and resources; especially : suffering extreme poverty

I’m not destitute because I have a safety net called my family that keeps me from becoming destitute. Without them, who knows? I might always be able to stop the fall before it goes to far, I might just continuing falling. I honestly don’t know.

But this does seem like a good segue to a photo essay I found this week. It’s a series of pictures of different people’s refrigerators and freezers, each with a brief caption of info about the household. I love it because with hardly any words, you can really imagine the stories and the lives, and some are very profound. Here’s the inside of a refrigerator of someone who lives on only $432/month.


© Mark Menjivar; please click for original story

And the republicans have the nerve to question the need to help people who are destitute. Let’s see them try to live on $432/month; let’s see how they survive.

I think I must be hardwired these days to stumble on things with a New Zealand connection. The Destitute Gourmet: really good idea for a site given the economic crisis we’re in. But it turns out to be based in NZ. Now, I know I can probably still use the recipes, but a good part of how they help people save money (and a really smart part) is in using in season produce and that’s quite a bit different in this neck of the woods. But I still think it’s a great find and have bookmarked it, if for no other reason than future NZ fic ideas.

There’s also a site called Destitute Gulch that has a review of Witness, a few screencaps, and a bunch of wav files to download. No pics of Viggo and there really wouldn’t be any sound files. Lord, he was so young in that movie; such a cutie.

There’s no question that any pictures for destitute would be very depressing. The fridge pic makes me hurt. I thought, let’s go with something a little more abstract but still captures the theme. I found this and thought that would be enough.


© nategrubb; please click for original image

I can picture the person who calls this home; it’s poignant but not overly emotional for me. But then I found this series by stoneth and I changed my mind.

Young and old.


© stoneth; please click for original images and check out the entire series

Look at the eyes. Look at their eyes. Let’s not pass them by. Acknowledge their presence; don’t just walk past as if they were invisible. And help when you can.

Look at those eyes.

© 2009 With the Passing of Time

Leave a Reply

Willingness to join soil, sound, hands; memory follows me ~ Viggo Mortensen
May 2009
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Credits

Daily words come from Merriam-Webster's word of the day. All rambling comes from my head.

Copyright

Creative Commons License
© 2008 - 2009 With the Passing of Time. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to With the Passing of Time with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
