With the Passing of Time

Fruit and veg not for the feint of heart

Posted on: May 14, 2009

There’s some weird ass fruit and veg in this world. This page has a bunch of pictures of some things I don’t think I’d even attempt to put near my mouth. Some of my “favorites”:

Dragon Fruit or Pitaya


Source: Wikipedia; Click for original image

It’s not the odd scaly skin that gets me. I can deal with that. No, it’s the fact that the inside looks like a giant loogy. That and the cooked picture reminds me of a bloody human organ. I think I’ll pass.

Mangosteen, actually the Purple Mangosteen


Source: Wikipedia; Click for original image

Now, these don’t gross me out. Actually, they make me very curious. I’d actually give these a whirl. They make me think of giant acorns that you can cut open and find what looks like a white orange inside to eat. And the fact that it’s an evergreen tree is fascinating.

Durian


Source: Wikipedia; Click for original image

It comes from a beautiful tree. However, it’s like a giant deformed pineapple with the hive mind inside. And apparently smells so bad it’s specifically banned in some hotels and public transit in some countries. No thank you.

And last, but not least, Romanesco broccoli


Source: Wikipedia; Click for original image

How can you not love a vegetable that looks like a pale green fractal seashell. And if it tastes anything like broccoli or cauliflower it’s ok in my book.

© 2009 With the Passing of Time

Tags:

Leave a Reply

Willingness to join soil, sound, hands; memory follows me ~ Viggo Mortensen
May 2009
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Credits

Daily words come from Merriam-Webster's word of the day. All rambling comes from my head.

Copyright

Creative Commons License
© 2008 - 2009 With the Passing of Time. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to With the Passing of Time with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
