With the Passing of Time

Calamari

Posted on: May 13, 2009

calamari
\kah-luh-MAHR-ee\ | noun

1 : squid used as food

I’m sorry but this is one of the most boring words a day ever. First of all, calamari is just ewww. But beside that, it’s just calamari. Maybe if I liked eating it I could write a long and lyrical essay about the best dining experience I ever had. And maybe I would conclude with a selection of my favorite calamari recipes. But calamari is just gross so that’s just not going to happen here.

Ok, rant over. And even though I said I wasn’t going to follow my original pattern like some kind of automaton, for this word it actually pays off. The first link is to Calamari Press. I couldn’t find a page that described the genres they publish or what they look for. But to give you an idea, they’ve published The Night I Dropped Shakespeare on the Cat. Just reading the small sample of text from the author, John Olson, makes me want to read the rest of this book. Just this: “The space in which I believed there to be a cat and there was no cat was that delicious space we call a fiction.” They describe his writing as “prose poems, surreal flash fiction, wildly speculative essays” and it sounds fascinating. If that’s an example of the books they publish then I say we should all give their catalog a thorough perusal.

Now the first image. Feast your eyes on The Calamari Wrestler.


Source: Cinema Strikes Back Click to go to original page.

Yes, it is a Japanese film from 2004. To quote from the review: “The Calamari Wrestler is part sports melodrama, part love story, and part inspirational fable, played (mostly) with a straight face, except that half the cast are giant walking sea creatures in wrestling boots.” Oh how do I long for Joel and the Bots to riff on this film. I have a fit of the giggles just looking at the picture. I’m so tempted to find this and watch; I think it would be an amazing mood booster.

And look: it’s on Netflix: “A gargantuan squid (Osamu Nishimura) who’s captured the hearts of wrestling fans everywhere by winning the championship becomes the object of a sweet young woman’s (Kana Ishida) affection. But when other sea creatures start gunning for his throne, he must defend his supremacy without losing his love.”

Oh yes, I must add this to my queue immediately. This is going to be too much fun. And I take it all back. This was the furthest thing from a boring word a day you can get.

© 2009 With the Passing of Time

Leave a Reply

Willingness to join soil, sound, hands; memory follows me ~ Viggo Mortensen
May 2009
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Credits

Daily words come from Merriam-Webster's word of the day. All rambling comes from my head.

Copyright

Creative Commons License
© 2008 - 2009 With the Passing of Time. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to With the Passing of Time with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
