With the Passing of Time

Lexical

Posted on: February 11, 2009

lexical
\LEK-sih-kul\ | adjective

1 : of or relating to words or the vocabulary of a language as distinguished from its grammar and construction
2 : of or relating to a lexicon or to lexicography

The first link really fascinates me although I’m not 100% sure I fully understand what it is. It’s the Compleat Lexical Tutor and it has a set of online language tests, tools for research (one where you enter in text up to 10,000 words and it creates a “family list,” the example they give is cat=>cat cats catty. Don’t ask me what use you’d make of it but it’s cool that it can do it. There’s another tool that provides random words, which immediately makes me think of using it for writing prompts. Another one that randomly sorts numbers, words or sentences. There are also a set of tools for teachers, one that helps create hyperlinks for resource or reading lists with links to various dictionaries. The site seems to be hosted at the linguistics department at the Université du Québec à Montréal and while I don’t know how one would use some of these tools, I think they’re very cool and I’m going to be playing around quite a bit.

The first image still shows up in a google image search but has been removed by the original poster.

This is the thumbnail from google; too bad the original is gone. It was drawn by Arthur van Dam for Martin Bravenboer’s blog. When you search for “lexical macros” to find out what the hell they are, the first site is this blog entry. I get that they’re macros that have to do with words in some way, but I’d like to see an example so I have a clue what they can do. And why someone would make a cartoon that says they’re bad.

I found a page that gave an example of one (nmstart) but the description of what it does is “Start a server in the current domain using Node Manager” which doesn’t seem to have anything to do with words or language. I am confused, and while I admit that isn’t a rare occurrence I still think it should be easier to find more information online. Maybe my Web surfing skills are drying up.

© 2009 With the Passing of Time

2 Responses to "Lexical"

why are they baaaad? inquiring minds want to know. now you’ve got me wondering.

I know, I am so curious.

Leave a Reply

Willingness to join soil, sound, hands; memory follows me ~ Viggo Mortensen
February 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Credits

Daily words come from Merriam-Webster's word of the day. All rambling comes from my head.

Copyright

Creative Commons License
© 2008 - 2009 With the Passing of Time. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to With the Passing of Time with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
