With the Passing of Time

Kinesics

Posted on: February 8, 2009

kinesics
\kuh-NEE-siks\ | noun

1 : a systematic study of the relationship between nonlinguistic body motions (as blushes, shrugs, or eye movement) and communication

I fail at this in a big way. Or rather I succeed beyond all proportions in achieving my subliminal goal of keeping the world at arms length. Maybe it’s not body language at all. Maybe it’s just the psychic field I emanate that puts a fifty-foot barrier around me.

The first link is from the University of Louisville’s College of Business Web site as part of a section on effective communication. It gives advice about dos and donts when interviewing, what your body language is saying about you. One piece of advice seems a bit odd to me. It says to mirror the interviewer with the caveat “but not to the point that you over do it.” But I think it would be incredibly hard to concentrate on good responses while at the same trying to copy the interviewer’s movements and gauge if you’re doing it too much. And they specifically say if the interviewer crosses his or her arms you should cross your arms. But doesn’t that give a really bad message to the interviewer? Doesn’t that say that you’re closed off or something negative? I’d wonder what had upset the person I was interviewing with if they suddenly crossed their arms. And also, do you really want to be some kind of parrot, mimicking the body movements of someone you want to give you a job? Maybe people in the corporate world like that kind of thing. From my nonprofit sector perspective I think it’s crazy.

The first image is Loose Lips from a post about body language on the Beyond Her Book blog at Publisher’s Weekly.

The writer is a guest blogger and the bulk of the post is a body language 101 quiz. I’m not taking it right now but I’m a sucker for these kind of quizzes so I’m sure I’ll go back and do it later. I love that one of the other pictures she uses to illustrate her post is from The Simpsons. And there’s a great quote from Mae West at the end: “I speak two languages, Body and English.”

I’m intrigued by the woman who’s the regular writer of this blog. She reminds me of the women who I’ve met through my obsession with Lord of the Rings. She went to Comic Con, had her picture taken with Chewbacca and was mega psyched that she got an interview with Joss Whedon. I wouldn’t be surprised if she turned out to be one of the people I regularly “talk” to in LOTR-related journals.

© 2009 With the Passing of Time

2 Responses to "Kinesics"

the lip pics make me want to icon in a major way.

They’re pretty cool, aren’t they? It’s one of the best first pics I’ve had.

Leave a Reply

Willingness to join soil, sound, hands; memory follows me ~ Viggo Mortensen
February 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Credits

Daily words come from Merriam-Webster's word of the day. All rambling comes from my head.

Copyright

Creative Commons License
© 2008 - 2009 With the Passing of Time. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to With the Passing of Time with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
