With the Passing of Time

Quantal

Posted on: February 7, 2009

quantal
\KWAHN-tul\ | adjective

1 : of, relating to, or having only two experimental alternatives (as dead or alive, all or none)
2 : of or relating to a quantum

I’m quite sure I never really knew what quantal meant. The first definition seems really different than quantum, which of course is exactly where my mind went because of Sam Beckett and Al and the wonderful show Quantum Leap. It has staying power. I watched the first season recently and it’s just as good as it ever was. Now I just need to find and watch the Don Quixote episode again and I’ll be a happy camper. Scott Bacula singing is completely and totally amazing.

The first link is somehow very fitting for these times: Quantal International, a company that ” provides cutting edge products and consulting services to financial institutions and advisors worldwide.” It’s not that I wish ill will toward any company even remotely related to the markets and investing, but I also want them to be suffering more than the rest of us and right now they’re just taking our money and buying corporate jets. So I hope Quantal International is feeling the pinch these days. Besides, investing seems like one area where if you believe there are only two alternatives you’d be broke before Sunday. Silly name for an investment company.

The first image is this:

It’s one of the links from this page, “Organization of Nervous System; Basic Functions of Synapses and Transmitter Substances” and is clearly a powerpoint slide from a presentation; the link is a bit down the page and is titled ” quantal nature of NT release 2.” Now I admit I didn’t click every link on that page, but a few random ones all came up with what looks like a page not found message in another language. If you go the root you’ll find this is on the Korean Neuroscience Newsletter site (that’s one of the few things in English).

Clearly I can’t comment on any of the actual content on this site, and I have absolutely no clue what the powerpoint slide actually means. I do find it fun that I’ve come across a Korean site just by searching for an image of quantal. But the child in me can’t get past the fact that something related to neuroscience has a formula or principle or something that’s titled Fatt-Katz. I’m sure it was made from either the name or names of the scientists who came up with this thing but did no one stop and think this would make it comical? (And how fitting that it should be in the same entry with an investment company, the ultimate fat cats.)

© 2009 With the Passing of Time

2 Responses to "Quantal"

Nice writing. You are on my RSS reader now so I can read more from you down the road.

Allen Taylor

Thanks. I don’t write much about money or investing but I hope you find something else interesting.

Leave a Reply

Willingness to join soil, sound, hands; memory follows me ~ Viggo Mortensen
February 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Credits

Daily words come from Merriam-Webster's word of the day. All rambling comes from my head.

Copyright

Creative Commons License
© 2008 - 2009 With the Passing of Time. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to With the Passing of Time with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
