With the Passing of Time

Daily thoughts – 2.6.08

Posted on: February 6, 2009

Today’s quote:

“Man is so made that he can only find relaxation from one kind of labor by taking up another.” — Anatole France

I’d like to say this was true for me but that would be a big fat lie. My relaxation has no relation to labor whatsoever. Then again, this was said before the days of The Sims and Xbox and Wii. :-)

Anatole France won the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1921 which is a great accomplishment. But it says something about me that what makes me very excited is his real last name was Thibault. Everyone who took French with me at Western Junior High School in Greenwich will remember the Thibau family (yes spelled differently, but I don’t care). Voila Monsieur Thibeau. Voila Madame Thibeau. Maybe we were talking about Anatole and we didn’t even know it.

Two of his other quotes are worth repeating until they sink into my dense head:

“To accomplish great things, we must dream as well as act.”
“It is by acts and not by ideas that people live.”

Today’s poem: “To Mr. Elkin” by Bernadette Mayer.

Again, no intellectual capacity for interpreting poems but I often love how the writer puts phrases together and this is no exception.

Daily as the lazy lily
the silly daisy let’s be

Isn’t that a great way to begin a poem? Do I have a clue what she means? No. But I love how it sounds.

our occupation being seeing
when no one else is around

I’m pretty sure this continues onto the next line but I really like these by themselves. To be “seeing when no one else is around:” it makes me stop and think, to try and come up with a way of describing that in a story as someone’s actual job or how they spend their time.

Random Wikipedia article

Fixture (tool): There’s really not much more to say about that. A tool used to hold something in place while it is put together or machined when manufacturing something. I can already see that this random article thing could prove quite boring very fast. :-)

© 2009 With the Passing of Time

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Willingness to join soil, sound, hands; memory follows me ~ Viggo Mortensen
February 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Credits

Daily words come from Merriam-Webster's word of the day. All rambling comes from my head.

Copyright

Creative Commons License
© 2008 - 2009 With the Passing of Time. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to With the Passing of Time with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
