With the Passing of Time

Daily thoughts – 2.5.09

Posted on: February 5, 2009

I couldn’t keep up with this before so what do I do? Decide to add even more things to my daily posts. Today launches the first daily thoughts entry: the daily quote from coolquotes.com, the daily poem from poems.com and a random wikipedia search.

Today’s quote:

“Thoughts lead on to purposes; purposes go forth in action; actions form habits; habits decide character; and character fixes our destiny.” — Tryon Edwards

It figures that the first quote I get is something that I need to read over and over again until it sinks in and I begin to act on it. The last part also speaks heavily to the change in leadership in this country. For eight years we had a president with no character and the US lost the respect of the world. Now we have a man of character in office, and over the next eight years he’s going to restore the dignity and reputation that we once could be proud of.

Tryon Edwards was a theologian, and interestingly enough he served in Rochester, NY and New London, CT. While Rotterdam is on the other side of the state, I think it’s kinda cool that he worked upstate and then moved to Connecticut, just like I did. (Yes, I know, big whoop, but it’s sort of interesting.)

Today’s poem is “Chronic” by “D.A. Powell”.

I am the last person you’d come to for an intelligent discussion about poetry. I often don’t get what the writer was trying to say and have no clue how to interpret them even for myself. But lines and phrases often resonate, and there are a couple in this poem that I really love.

the profession of absence, of being absented, a lifting skyward
then gone
the moment of flight: another resignation from the sweep of earth

anonymous voices that beckoned to ramble

I especially like that last one: “anonymous voices that beckoned to ramble”

And finally, the random article on Wikipedia is about Abdul Rahim Nagori, a Pakistani painter. I’ve never heard of him before, but I’ve looked through a few of the paintings on his site. Some of them are rather harsh, not bad but they feel violent and fearful. This one I particularly like.

I like the colors and the calmness of it. His work is worth a look if you have time.

© 2009 With the Passing of Time

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Willingness to join soil, sound, hands; memory follows me ~ Viggo Mortensen
February 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Credits

Daily words come from Merriam-Webster's word of the day. All rambling comes from my head.

Copyright

Creative Commons License
© 2008 - 2009 With the Passing of Time. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to With the Passing of Time with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
