With the Passing of Time

No time to say hello goodbye (post haste song)

Posted on: May 5, 2008

I’ve fallen behind on this experiment; a lot going on and keeping up each day is hard. So I’m cutting myself a little slack today and I’m going to cheat. :-) Here are the lyrics to a wonderful fast paced song where the singer urgently wants their meal served post haste. (There is a song called Hurry Hurry Hurry from that same collection but I don’t like it as much.)

The Super-Supper March (Dr. Seuss, The Cat in the Hat Song Book)

Hungry, hungry, I am hungry. Table, table, here I come.
I could eat a goose-moose burger, fifteen pickles and a purple plum!

I could eat three bowls of goolash, half a pound of wuzzled wheat.
I could eat a peck of poobers, then I’d really get to work and eat!

Oysters, noodles, strawberry stroodles
French fries, fish hash, one red beet
Lamb chops, wham chops, huckleberry mish mash
Oh the things that I could eat!

Donuts, dumplings, blueberry bumplings
Choc’late mush-mush, super sweet.
Clam stew, ham stew, watermelon wush wush
Oh, the stuff that I could eat!

Deep dish rhubarb upside down cake, I could eat a frittered flum.
Hungry, hungry, I am starving!
Table, table, table here I come!

Tags:

2 Responses to "No time to say hello goodbye (post haste song)"

Thank you for that one. I sang along as I read it. But I really like the other song, too. I’m always reciting pieces of it:

Two legs, four legs, six legs eight
Hurry, hurry, hurry, or we’ll all be late
But if you hurry fast, you begin to huff and blow
And your legs won’t last, so you’d better hurry slow.
So let’s hurry slow, yes that’s what we’ll do
With our eight legs, six legs, four legs, two!

Next up: “My Uncle Terwilliger Waltzes with Bears”

I want to find a logical reason to post “Somebody Stole My Hoo-Too-Foo-To-Boo-To-Bah.”

Leave a Reply

Willingness to join soil, sound, hands; memory follows me ~ Viggo Mortensen

Credits

Daily words come from Merriam-Webster's word of the day. All rambling comes from my head.

Copyright

Creative Commons License
© 2008 - 2009 With the Passing of Time. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to With the Passing of Time with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
