With the Passing of Time

My Salad Days Are Over (salad days drabble)

Posted on: May 1, 2008

No more youthful dramas: the world doesn’t revolve around me and I’m not indestructible, she mused. Waiting for the right phone call from the right person isn’t a life or death matter anymore. And, thank god, I don’t order food at restaurants as if I were a giant rabbit or bird, pretending to be satisfied with a few leafy greens and vegetables.

I’m done with my salad days, she said to herself, smiling ruefully at the pun. Lifting the half-pound burger with double cheese, strips of bacon, and grilled onions to her mouth, she took a hefty bite and smiled.

© 2009 With the Passing of Time

Tags:

2 Responses to "My Salad Days Are Over (salad days drabble)"

Cute. I like it the pun. I actually think my salad days are going to begin (pun meaning intended, obviously) if I can galvanize myself to start shopping more locally than not. We’ll see how that works out.

Not that I don’t like this, but I should have just waited until I had a real idea. I decided it was ok to fall behind on the writing but I was worried about falling more than two days behind. That’s just silly.

How does shopping locally equate to salad days (pun meaning)?

Leave a Reply

Willingness to join soil, sound, hands; memory follows me ~ Viggo Mortensen

Credits

Daily words come from Merriam-Webster's word of the day. All rambling comes from my head.

Copyright

Creative Commons License
© 2008 - 2009 With the Passing of Time. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to With the Passing of Time with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
