With the Passing of Time

Propagate

Posted on: April 30, 2008

propagate
\PRAH-puh-gayt\ | verb

1 : to reproduce or cause to reproduce biologically : multiply
2 : to cause to spread : extend
3 : to foster growing knowledge of, familiarity with, or acceptance of (as an idea or belief) : publicize

Everything’s coming up roses. Or at least plants and horticulture. The first link outlines how to propagate roses with rooting hormones. The most interesting part of this page is is the info is presented by Hortus USA. Don’t know why but the name really makes me giggle. The site and the name just sound so 70s to me for some reason.

The first picture is a diagram of the parts of a plant, presumably to help people determine what’s what when they try to propagate a plant.

Photobucket

The picture isn’t on the page that’s referenced anymore (tips on propagating house plants) but it probably used to be.

I think I’m going to have to slip again today. I’m picturing a certain sharpe dude in his garden. :-)

2 Responses to "Propagate"

Propagate, eh? I need to start thinking along these lines myself. I have to talk to L-J and P upstairs about which part of the garden I’ll get to play with. I’m having a hard time deciding if I should be all flowers or if I should try a tiny bit of locavore monkey trouble in the back yard. What do you think? And what would you plant if you were here?

What is locavore monkey trouble, may I ask?

I don’t know what I’d plant if I had a garden. I think I’d try to grow some good greens for Casey, probably more flowering plants than flowers (but I don’t know any names) and if I was feeling particularly optimistic some herbs to cook with. But that would be the last thing I’d plant.

Leave a Reply

Willingness to join soil, sound, hands; memory follows me ~ Viggo Mortensen
April 2008
S M T W T F S
    May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Credits

Daily words come from Merriam-Webster's word of the day. All rambling comes from my head.

Copyright

Creative Commons License
© 2008 - 2009 With the Passing of Time. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to With the Passing of Time with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
