With the Passing of Time

Cognizable

Posted on: April 29, 2008

cognizable
\KAHG-nuh-zuh-bul\ | adjective

1 : capable of being judicially heard and determined
2 : capable of being known

Maybe it’s because I’m tired but I’m not feeling this word too much. The sites are all legal, the first one a category from a jury selection blog.

I’m a big proponent of doing your civic duty and serving on a jury when you’re called. And I know that prosecutors and defense attorneys use the selection process as a way to serve their side. But honestly, is there anything particularly inspiring about it?

The first picture is of a diagram for a boarding pass face patent from 2007

cognizable

The Boarding Face Pass Patent of the Day goes to an Independent Inventor from Michigan for a Method for verifying the identity of a passenger (07/03/07). You have to scroll down a little to find the right post (or if you’re really interested, search for cognizable and it’ll come right up).

*yawn* Maybe just focus on the jury part and think 12 Angry Men (or Women in my mother’s case) and I can come up with something.

3 Responses to "Cognizable"

You know how I feel about doing your civic duty (don’t you wish there was a song to go along with the Election Day song all about serving on a jury?) … and I really do feel that way … except I’m not looking forward to my grand jury date in two weeks. I was so discouraged about not getting picked last time, I think that’s going to influence how I do during the selection process this time around. We’ll see.

I know you know this, but it’s the act of showing up and being willing to serve that means the most. I’ll keep my fingers crossed that you get selected this time.

Thank you. I think I must be the only person who walks into the crazy cattle call of jury selection hoping to get chosen! It still smarts that I gave the obnoxious defense attorney the wrong answer last time … and that he was so obviously antagonistic with me. What was that about? in any case, I’m getting a little more enthusiastic about going. We’ll see what happens.

Leave a Reply

Willingness to join soil, sound, hands; memory follows me ~ Viggo Mortensen
April 2008
S M T W T F S
    May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Credits

Daily words come from Merriam-Webster's word of the day. All rambling comes from my head.

Copyright

Creative Commons License
© 2008 - 2009 With the Passing of Time. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to With the Passing of Time with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
