With the Passing of Time

The Whoville Beat (mélange poem)

Posted on: April 27, 2008

Just a bunch of nonsense really because I had no ideas and don’t want to skip a day.

A mélange of blancmange, orange and citrange
Sat on my tongue like a chemical lozenge

We tried to acquaint the magistrate with the taste
But he was an advocate for ascorbate

I survived acid rain and climate change
only to be bitten by a 200-foot boomslange.

It’s hard to anticipate the fate of the state
As my eyes dilate and I asphyxiate

But although I felt disarranged, broken and deranged
I managed to rearrange the estranged in the city of La Grange

Peace.

Tags:

2 Responses to "The Whoville Beat (mélange poem)"

Mmm … a melange of blancmange, my favorite! This is fun. I love that you rearranged the estranged!

Thank you! It took me forever to find out how to spell blancmange before I could find out if it was what I thought it was. It’d be handy if someone created an online dictionary where you could say the word and the program gave you some options.

Leave a Reply

Willingness to join soil, sound, hands; memory follows me ~ Viggo Mortensen
April 2008
S M T W T F S
    May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Credits

Daily words come from Merriam-Webster's word of the day. All rambling comes from my head.

Copyright

Creative Commons License
© 2008 - 2009 With the Passing of Time. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to With the Passing of Time with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
