With the Passing of Time

Untitled (orientate drabble)

Posted on: April 26, 2008

She smoothed her hand down Finley’s side, the hair smooth against her palm. Laying her face against his flank, she continued idly stroking his fur, wanting nothing more than to stay in this peaceful haven. She closed her eyes, letting the gentle animal warm her.

A quiet whicker broke her reverie and she smiled, moving to lead Finley out to the pasture. The honest work of the last weeks had given her long elusive confidence, but in only two days all this would end. She stilled at the sudden rush of sadness, not for the first time fighting back tears.

Tags:

2 Responses to "Untitled (orientate drabble)"

Oh, this is nice. You’re so funny, though … I looked at your ‘word a day’ and the first thing I thought was, “Orientate That’s not a word. That’s one of those made up words uneducated people use who want to sound intelligent, like conversate.” Hmm … seems I’ll have to change the rant I use in class when I talk about ‘words’ like conversate.

In any case, I really like this tiny bit … but I wish there was more. There are so many questions here!

(And just a little nit-picky thing: don’t we consider horses to have ‘hair’ not ‘fur’?)

They do but I had used hair just before and I couldn’t think of anything else. :-)

I know you don’t like “conversate” so am I meaner than what you say to your class or just less politically correct?

Leave a Reply

Willingness to join soil, sound, hands; memory follows me ~ Viggo Mortensen
April 2008
S M T W T F S
    May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Credits

Daily words come from Merriam-Webster's word of the day. All rambling comes from my head.

Copyright

Creative Commons License
© 2008 - 2009 With the Passing of Time. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to With the Passing of Time with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
