With the Passing of Time

Inanition

Posted on: April 24, 2008

inanition
in-uh-NISH-un | noun

1 : the exhausted condition that results from lack of food and water
2 : the absence or loss of social, moral, or intellectual vitality or vigor

How fitting when I decide to start this little exercise that the first word I get is inanition. First, new to me so cool to learn something this morning. Second, it just about sums up who I am and the state of my “life.”

It feels like being dead but no one told your heart or lungs yet. They keep on working, keeping you physicially alive, but you’ve been empty for years. Me, I think I’ve been empty for almost half my life and I can’t remember what it feels like to care whether I wake up or not.

The first picture that comes up in a Google image search is this (click for larger and caption).

Inanition Small Size

Definitely not a sunny way to start your day. :-)

How does one function with nothing inside? You don’t. But some people aren’t meant for happiness, for friends or family, for love. If you hold on to that and stop hoping for more, somehow you get out the door and sleepwalk through your day. I gave up on dreams long ago. The baby was lucky.

The first site in a google search that isn’t a definition of the word is this. Everything fits today. Veterinary medicine for reindeer. The reindeer part is odd but I do love animals. My niece told me a couple of weeks ago that she wants to be a veterinarian. A little girl after my own heart.

Daily writing based on Inanition: Baby drabble

2 Responses to "Inanition"

i’d never seen this word before (or don’t recall it, anyway), and today, i read about someone being treated for malnutrition and inanition. interesting how it always goes like that.

I love it when that happens. It makes you wonder how often you might have heard about a place or a thing before and just didn’t notice.

Leave a Reply

Willingness to join soil, sound, hands; memory follows me ~ Viggo Mortensen
April 2008
S M T W T F S
    May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Credits

Daily words come from Merriam-Webster's word of the day. All rambling comes from my head.

Copyright

Creative Commons License
© 2008 - 2009 With the Passing of Time. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to With the Passing of Time with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
